Buying followers isn’t for me!

Image

As many of you do, I log in to my Twitter account a few times a day, scan through my feed and read funny, sad, informative and sometimes inspiring tweets. I follow those that interest me, those that I admire and some that are just plain funny.

It seems though that the landscape is changing. As an avid twitter’r, I like to post things that I hope will get a reaction from people, maybe even a reply or retweet, or at the very least a favourite? I’m seeing a change now though, as my twitter feed is becoming spammed with promoted posts. For example, I just went on and under “similar to follow” I was greeted by the founder of the DIVA network and relationship and intimacy expert? *See above picture* Not sure what Twitter thinks about me, but that really doesn’t sound like me? Just ask my girlfriend, I’m no relationship expert! Therefore my concern for promoted posts is two fold…

1) Why am I being told about things that don’t interest me? The algorithm for choosing who receives what promoted posts and promoted accounts seems to be quite off. It reminds me of the recommended channels on TIVO! I can understand the odd weird promoted account, but I don’t think I’ve said “why yes I do want to follow that account!” ever! Twitter needs to fix up this part of its business model, because those that pay to have their account promoted, won’t like that it seems to be random accounts that they’re promoting too.

2) Is anyone else mad at the idea of promoting posts and accounts? I get that it’s simple, you pay for your account or post to get a big audience. What about those that have worked hard to provide their followers with relative info, or useful info, and gained a following “the old fashion way”. This new way of promoting is good for those that can afford it. I for one am not a fan of it though, I think it takes away from the good ol days when in order to go viral you need good content. Yes many still find ways to gain lots of retweets, but I think now that social media is growing so much, companies are now paying for retweets. I think it defeats the purpose of content is king.

Overall, even as I manage the social media for a hotel group, I still don’t believe in paying to promote. Our executive team just recently made me add a content creator from a SEO management company, to have access to the Facebook pages. I’ve seen a difference in how many accounts each post on reaches, but does it have any ROI? Am I just really honing in on my audience and what they like to see and that’s why more likes are aspiring? Or, does it have nothing to do with the content, and we’re just paying for likes? I’m going with the first option…

What are your thoughts on promoted posts? Are you getting a proper ROI, or are you just a great content creator?

Leave a Reply

